2017 Senior Awards announced

Posted by Alison Mable on 4 October 2017

Senior Awards Evening
Over 60 members gathered in the welcoming surroundings of Saffron Walden Town Bowls Club for the annual awards evening.  Guest of Honour was Keith Coburn (Chairman of the Whiting League and manager of the Cambridgeshire Minor Counties team).  The full list of award winners is below, but attention should be drawn to the H.J Cheffins Memorial Cup for the Most Outstanding Clubman which went to Chris Larlham for  many years of behind the scenes advice and support for the club as well as scoring for the 1st XI.  James Rushford was the H.M. Housden Most Outstanding Cricketer, having scored 7 centuries and set an all-time club record of 1690 runs in a season as far as our records show.  The Academician Award for the young player who has excelled on and off the field went this year to Henry Rodda.

The Ladies' team stole the honours with an unbeaten record leading to the league championship - a remarkable turn around after poor seasons previously.  The Fiona Harris Most Outstanding Female Cricketer went to Emma Borgeson.

Thanks to Sharon Willis and her team for the catering supported as ever by the Diamonds

List of award winners:

H.J Cheffins Memorial Cup

Most Outstanding Clubman 2017

Chris Larlham

H.M Housden Memorial Cup

Most Outstanding Cricketer 2017

James Rushford

The Leason Shield

Most Improved Cricketer 2017

Bertie Scott

The Land Memorial Cup

Most Outstanding Performance of the Year 2017

Joe Barrs

Fiona Harris Award

Most Outstanding Female Cricketer 2017

Emma Borgeson

Ron Muggeridge Trophy

Most Outstanding Young Player 2017

Jack Ormsby

Most Outstanding Leader of Young People 2017

Kevin Deamer

Batsman of the Year 2017

James Rushford

Wiseman Bowler of the Year 2017

Ali Hancock

Fielder of the Year 2017

Mihir Chandraker

Groundsman’s Award 2017

Luke Ormsby

Player of the Year 1st XI 2017

James Rushford

Player if the Year 2nd XI 2017

Alexander Thomas

Player of the Year 3rd XI 2017

Dave Ledwith

Player of the Year 4th XI 2017

Louis Temblett

Player of the Year 5th XI 2017

Ollie Rae

Player of the Year Ladies 2017

Sophie Geldard

Player of the Year Sunday XI 2017

Bertie Scott

Player of the Year Midweek XI 2017

Ben Harris

Player of the Year under 19 2017

Jack Ormsby

Join us

Contact us today if you are interested in finding out more about our club either as a player, official, coach or volunteer

Get in touch

Our latest news

  • Supporting SWCC

    Posted 26 February 2019

    Saffron Walden Cricket Club’s continued success is dependent on the generosity of our corpor …

  • Club Dinner 2019

    Posted 23 January 2019

    Book your tickets now for the social event of the year! …

  • Young Leaders Programme

    Posted 20 January 2019

    The Young Leaders Programme is for 14-16 year olds and offers opportunities to build skills …

  • Academy Winter Programme

    Posted 29 November 2018

    Details of the Academy Winter Programme, which runs from 4 January to 29 March 2019 HERE …

  • SWCC - a Clubmark Club!

    Posted 21 October 2018

    We are delighted to announce that we have once again been accredited under the ECB Clubmark …

  • Club Dinner 2018

    Posted 25 January 2018

    The Club Dinner is now sold out! Thanks to everyone who has bought a ticket! …

  • Half term cricket coaching

    Posted 23 January 2018

    Kevin Duers is offering a cricket coaching day for 6 to 12 year-olds in the February Half Te …

Sponsors Area

© 2013 - 2019 Saffron Walden Cricket Club. All rights reserved.

To contact your Data Controller, click here

C'mon Crocus C'mon

Data Protection Statement

If you wish to withdraw consent from us holding your personal data please email d.hancock1@ntlworld.com . We are happy to remove all data from the site, but it will only be possible for you to be a member of the club if we can process other data you have provided through application forms, etc.

In addition, if you wish to exercise your right to be forgotten please click here

Powered by ClubBuzz.

Details of Data Controller are

Name: Dave Hancock

Email: d.hancock1@ntlworld.com