On 10th September the club celebrated its players and volunteers in awards events.

Academy Awards 2022

During the day awards were presented to those in the Academy, the junior side of the club, who had excelled in 2022. Well done, everyone! Photos of the day are HERE.

Special awards

Academician of the Year – Jonny Rumsby

Steve Jones Spirit of Cricket Award – Bobbie Thurston

Girl Cricketer of the Year – Emily Rumsby

Volunteer of the Year – Sarah Rumsby (manager, junior girls)

Squad awards


Batting Award

Bowling Award



Max Dorren

George Hill

Pelham Buck 


Hari Prasad

Ethan Warwick 


Jake Notton

Imogen Murphy 


Cillian Harrison

Umar Ibrahim 


Kirin Navapurkar

Bobbie Thurston 


Jonny Rumsby

James Razzell 


Isaac Vaughan

Jake Eley


Charlie Stock

Luca Frainer

Brian Taylor

Harry Silverwood

Barney Hoyle

U10 Girls

Imogen Murphy

Molly Ketteley

U12 Girls

Emily Rumsby

Alice Elphick 


Player of the Year: James Massie 


Senior Awards

In the evening, senior players’ contributions and achievements were celebrated at an informal social evening. Details of awards are listed below – congratulations to all!

David Barrs paid tribute to Ben Harris, who is stepping down as captain of the 1st XI. He praised Ben’s leadership and dedication over five years, during which the 1st XI had regained their place in the Premier League, and thanked him for all he had done for the club in his time as a captain.

Photos of the event are HERE.

Special Awards

The H.J Cheffins Memorial Cup

Most Outstanding Clubman

Nominated:  John Bagley, Angela Barkes, Jo Borgeson, Jonny Brace, Tim Gladwin, Tom Rodda

Jo Borgeson

The H.M. Housden Memorial Cup

Most Outstanding Cricketer

Nominated:   Jonny Brace, Emmy Brown, Josh Down, Nick Taylor

Nick Taylor

The Leason Shield

Most Improved Cricketer

Nominated:  Ollie Rae, Valerie Reader, Charlie, Rowlandson

Charlie Rowlandson

The Land Memorial Cup

Most Outstanding Performance of the Year

Nominated: Jack Carroll, Matt Jones

Matt Jones

Fiona Harris Award

Most Outstanding Female Cricketer of the Year

Nominated:  Katy Borgeson, , Emmy Brown

Emmy Brown

The Ron Muggeridge Trophy

Most Outstanding Young Player in Senior Cricket

Nominated:  Jed Bailey, Alex Dupont-Short, Jonny Rumsby, Noah Vintiner

Noah Vintiner

SWCC Leader Award

Most Outstanding Leader of Young People

(formerly the Jack Petchey Leader Award 2009-2014)

Nominated:  Jonny Brace, Alex Dupont-Short, Stan Leech, Ray Mordini, Chris Scott, Rob Thurston

Stan Leech

Jeff Goodwin Trophy (named in 2019)

Most Outstanding Batsman of the Year

Nominated:   Jonny Brace, Robina Heathcote, Jonny Rumsby, Nick Taylor, Tony Wiseman

Jonny Brace

Wiseman Trophy

Most Outstanding Bowler of the Year

Nominated:  Hywel Bowen, Jonny Brace, Emmy Brown, Jack Carroll, Matt Jones, Jade de Klerk, Ollie Rae, Byron Sindell, Noah Vintiner

Ollie Rae

Fielder of the Year

Most Outstanding Fielder of the Year

Nominated: Jack Carroll, Ali Hancock, Jade de Klerk, Luke Ormsby, Alex Pierson, Charlie Rowlandson, Ben Wiseman

Ali Hancock

Groundsman’s award

Nominated:  Tom Bonham, Jo Borgeson, Jack Ormsby, Jack Sneath

Jack Sneath

Senior Team Awards


Player of the Year

1st XI

Nick Taylor

2nd XI

Jack Carroll

3rd XI

Noah Vintiner

4th XI

Jed Bailey

Women & Girls

Alex Dupont-Short

u19 ECB T20

Ollie Rae


Hywel Bowen

Categories: Uncategorized